top of page
  • Futura Doctora

First blog post

Updated: Apr 30, 2020

Frustrated. Overwhelmed. Exhausted. Defeated. Lost. Discouraged. Devastated. Failure.

That’s my current ball of emotions. They’re suffocating me and I’m not sure how to escape. I keep looking for help and looking for outlets but I can’t find anything. I feel like I’m the only one going through this, but I can’t be right? I’m sure there’s others out there struggling like me. At least I hope there is.

I decided to turn my negative emotions into this blog. I’m hoping that it’ll help me reach out to others who feel the same and also help me find answers to help myself.

So why do I feel like this?

I am a struggling med school applicant. Well potential med school applicant. I’m not quite to the point of applying. My plan was to apply for med school for the 2018 cycle, but things did not go as well as I would have liked.

I took my MCAT twice. My first time I took it was 08/19/2016. My score was pathetic. I knew I wasn’t going to do well, but seeing a 488 on my score report was painful. My second attempt at the MCAT was on 04/22/2017. I was devastated when I saw my score. I worked so hard and was better prepared, but my score was still 494. I didn’t even make it to 500! I feel discouraged.

I relied on a high MCAT score because I have a low GPA. When I say low GPA, I mean low GPA. I was listening to a podcast about struggling med school applicants that made it into med school. There was as girl on the show that said she had a low GPA and I got excited because that meant there was hope for me. My excitement diminished when she said her GPA was a 3.2. THAT IS NOT A LOW GPA! Let’s just say that my GPA didn’t even make it to 3.0.

So now what?

I’m not sure. That’s what I’m trying to figure out. I’m not going to give up because I won’t feel accomplished unless I am a doctor. I just need to get my foot through the door. But until I figure that out,

maxresdefault

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page