top of page
  • Futura Doctora

10 Facts About Me

Updated: Apr 30, 2020

greeting.JPG

I guess it’s time for me to properly introduce myself. I figured the easiest way to do this is by stating 10 facts about myself.

  1. My name is Melissa and that is actually a mistake. My parents wanted to name me Marissa and somehow that got misunderstood. While this story shocks many people, it makes me laugh. I feel like my name mistake foreshadows a lot of other life events. It also reminds me that everything happens for a reason. I love my name and the story behind my name.

  2. I am 23 years old. I was born on December 24th, Christmas Ever for those of us who celebrate. And no, I don’t get twice as much presents. Yes, I usually only get one big present for both my birthday and Christmas. And yes, most people forget my birthday. I don’t mind people forgetting about my birthday. I enjoy Christmas too much to care haha

  3. Even though I’m only 23, I feel like I’m 73. I get sleepy by 10pm and wake up around 7, if not earlier. My favorite hobbies are knitting and sewing, even though I never have time to do them. My body is always cracking and sore (this could be due to my active lifestyle, but that’s besides the point). I’d much rather stay in than go out and I never enjoyed drinking. I’ve been called a grandma by friends before on various occasions.

  4. I was born and raised in Chicago. As any person from Chicago will tell you, I love Chicago. Unfortunately the neighborhood we lived in was becoming too violent, so we had to move to the suburbs. I returned to Chicago for college and then I had to come back to the suburbs after graduation (too broke for city-living). I’m hoping that the next time I live in Chicago, I won’t have to move back to the suburbs.

  5. English is my second language. I grew up with Spanish and learned English by watching cartoons. I was bilingual (read: Spanish-speaking) classes until most of fourth grade (we moved about halfway into 4th grade). Transitioning to all-English class was difficult. I was the only Latina in my class. I had an accent. People made fun of my accent so I learned to speak English with an American accent. I sometimes regret this because I feel like I lost part of my culture. However, sounding like an American girl has had its perks professionally.

  6. Remember when I said that my name mistake foreshadows other life events? Well here’s one. I played the clarinet in middle school. I didn’t want to play the clarinet; I wanted to play the flute. How did I end up with the clarinet? Great question. I didn’t remember the word “flute.” When the teacher asked me what I wanted to play, I said clarinet because that was the word I remembered. Once I got my clarinet I realized that “clarinet” was the wrong word. Oh well, at least I was good at it.

  7. I graduated on December 2016 from Roosevelt University with a bachelor’s of science in biology. This is a huge accomplishment for me! I am first generation. My parents are from Mexico and weren’t given the opportunity to pursue an education. I have older cousins on both sides of my family. I have 2 cousins from my dad’s side that attended college and graduated. Buuuuuut I AM THE FIRST PERSON ON MY MOM’S SIDE OF THE FAMILY TO GRADUATE FROM COLLEGE! I have cousins on my mom’s side that attended college, but never finished. So yes, I’m really proud of this. Let me have my moment.

  8. I met my Prince Charming in college. I’ve been in a happy and healthy relationship for almost 4 years now. If it wasn’t for my boyfriend’s support and encouragement, I wouldn’t have decided to seriously pursue medicine. He helps balance me. Hate to sound so cheesy and cliche, but he completes me. You know, the salsa to my tacos. We just go better together.

  9. I have a wonderful and supportive family. My parents have sacrificed a lot for my sisters and me. They are the reason why achieving my goals and dreams is so important to me. My success is the only way I can repay my parents a fraction of their sacrifices. I have two younger sisters, so there’s a lot of pressure to be a good role model. I also have a rescue chihuahua, who always curls up in my lap whenever I need it the most. I love my Mexican roots and I am proud of being a Latina.

  10. Figured I’d end this list with the reason why I want to be a doctor. Remember the thing with my name and the flute-clarinet? Yeeeeaaah. So the same thing kinda happened as to how I chose to be a doctor. It was junior year in high school and everyone was talking about their career plans. I felt left out because I didn’t know what I wanted to do with the rest of my life. So I was talking to some friends and they asked me my dreaded question: what are you going to be? I could not believe what came out of my mouth. Without even thinking, I had said doctor. I hadn’t considered being a doctor before. So why did I say that? But I went through with it and I’m still here. I’ll go into more detail on another occasion. Like I said, I believe everything happens for a reason.

I personally thought creating this list was going to be difficult, but I’m surprised how easy these points came to me. But enough about me, I want to know about you! Leave me a comment with facts about you (doesn’t have to be 10, however many you’d like).

signature.JPG
17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page